Shower Power

Here’s another awesome way of sending out a message. It’s actually really interesting, because water’s supposed to be the villain and the it’s also playing the role of the medium which relays this message. I think the goal is to send chills down our spines, and they’re doing a good job in pulling that off with the images and the creepy music.

Once again, awesome technology that can be used for many things. While the use of water makes sense in this situation, I’m sure it can be used in many other cases as well. People enjoy watching cool things, so I’m sure anyone would stop to watch this even if it was promoting Justin Bieber. Also, the youtube view count is not very high yet, but I have a feeling that will change soon. That being said, cool marketing campaigns such as these only have to occur once in one location, and can still be shared around the world over a week or two, which is really long in internet time.

The trick is to using media, such as youtube, effectively. While I love the campaign idea, I think they should also include links on the video to websites where you can learn more about the issues and what you can do to help. A lot of campaign videos on youtube tend to focus on the “cool” aspects, which is awesome because that’s what I mostly look for, but marketers should take more advantage of this medium. So while I think this campaign is awesome, I don’t think they did a very effective job in actually getting people to change.

NOTE: There seems to be a water theme this week; I’m assuming it has to do with earth day. It’s not that I have some weird water searching fetish.. Ugh, ok fine. You got me.

(Via: Ads of the World)

Leave a Reply

